OZTek - diving information & inspiration - OZTek 2015 Awards

Richard Vevers: 2015 Media Excellence Award.
Photo: Nicholas Terry

John Dalla-Zuanna receives his 2015 Outstanding Achievement Award. Photo: Nicholas Terry

Richard Evans receives his 2015 Industry Recognition Award from Simon Mitchell (left). Photo: Nicholas Terry

OZTeK2015 Tech Diver of the Year Lance Robb receiving his 2015 Technical Diver of the Year award. Photo: Nicholas Terry
Celebrating the achievements and accomplishments of Australia's leading Divers and Dive Industry personnel - people who have helped push back the boundaries of knowledge and exploration, and whose efforts lead to the development and use of new diving technologies.

The presentation of the biennial OZTek Awards is a much-anticipated aspect of OZTek & the concluding Gala Awards Dinner.


The OZTek Awards recognise five main areas of achievement and are:

Industry Recognition Award
- To acknowledge diving Industry members whose individual efforts have often had a far-reaching impact on the advancement and growth of diving.

Previous Recipients include:
     Rob Cason
     Dr Simon Mitchell
     Richard Nicholls
     Barry Hallett
     Tony Davis
     Barry Andrewartha
     Terry Cummins
     Col McKenzie
     Jayne Jenkins
     Richard Taylor
     Warrick McDonald
     Richard Evans - 2015

Outstanding Achievement Award - To recognise deserving individuals whose achievements embody the spirit of diving adventure, exploration and teamwork.

Previous recipients are:
     Kevin Denlay
     Ron Allum
     Andrew Wight
     Chris Brown
     Dr Mark Spencer
     Dr Richard Harris
     Steve Trewavas
     Mervyn Maher
     Pete Mesley
     John Dalla-Zuanna - 2015

Technical Diver of The Year Award
- For continued outstanding achievements in underwater exploration (includes elements of teamwork, mentoring and inspiration).

Previous Recipients are:
     David Apperley
     Paul Hosie
     Trevor Jackson
     Samir Alhafith
     Craig Challen
     Sandy Varin
     Liam Allen
     Lance Robb - 2015

Emerging Explorer Award

- Criteria:

  • Under 35 years of age
  • Acknowledgement of an up-&-coming diver for their contribution to exploration, research or training in the spirit of team work and community.


Media Excellence Award
- For ongoing promotion of ocean awareness and the diving industry, technical or otherwise.

Note: This award is only given in outstanding circumstances

Previous Recipients are:
     Michael Menduno
     Jill Heinerth
     Richard Vevers - 2015

Lifetime Achievement Award - an award which speaks for itself.

Previous Recipients are:
     Valerie Taylor

Copyright © 2018 OZTek - diving information & inspiration